Ground Research – 2 – Iron and Steel works

Back at the site where the museum is situated I decided to have a look around to see if I could meet anyone or find anything which would tell me more about this industrial site. Most of the site has been converted into small business offices at the front of the site but there are a few buildings which still resemble industry which has long been used.

current 3

Site 1 is the location of the museum and gives some access to the warehouses behind. The sign on top of the long building which is clearly represented on the map is the one that started my belief that this was in fact the location of the arsenal from the museum. The sign indicates it dates back to 1890, or maybe its merely a reference.

Site 2 at the other end of the long warehouse building offered access to a few industrial buildings which had little indication to what they were. The access did provide me though with some nice photo opportunities.

Site  3 is where I started making some head way into actually discovering the dates and purpose of some of these buildings. I am yet to get the sign translated by once that’s done it should shed some light on what the photos are of. The shots I were able to get were quite limited in that I could only peak through windows or doors etc so the creative outcome was restricted in that sense.

The sign reads “Electric furnace, Build in 1965, From 1976 to 1984 it was used for the most vital building projects in the city. Expanded twice , Used specialized and advanced methods for creating the highest quality steel. In 2011 it was listed as a locally know historical building in 2017 however it became a nationally know historical building”

Site 4 is probably the oldest section of the complex and has now been fenced off. The build gates on over the door ways make it pretty clear they no longer want people going inside. A few months back though I did go inside when that wasn’t the case so if needed I could use some of those. I didn’t notice the sign the first time I visited this time around I did so I have that to translate also.

IMG_1314

Sign reads  “conversion plant, built in 1966, An important industrial landmark. A steel works which used the most advanced methods from aboard. Its open air design was also significant because it was also advanced for that time. In 2011 it was listed as a locally know historical building in 2017 however it became a nationally know historical building”

Site 5 is basically the opposite end of the long warehouse which joins on to the site 4. Its very open and there was actually a train there which wasn’t there last time. I am not sure its used or not but its definitely moved. This view provides nice contrasts with the city in the background and the space unused once more.

I feel like with the two areas explored I have enough content for this assignment. I need to fill in some blanks in terms of my research in order to be able to write about how this place has returned to a space.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started